The Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs of the Slovak Republic


The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Slovak: Ministerstvo zahraničných vecí) is responsible for maintaining the Slovak Republic’s external relations and the management of its international diplomatic missions. The ministry’s director is Miroslav Lajčák, who also acts as the country’s Deputy Prime Minister and is a member of the Smer party

The ministry oversees Slovakia’s affairs with foreign entities, including bilateral relations with individual nations and its representation in international organizations, including the European Union, the United Nations, NATO and the OECD. The ministry also holds responsibility for matters related to international trade, the rights of its expatriates, monitoring human rights and crisis situations abroad, and the spread of information about Slovakia internationally. The ministry is also involved in the affairs of the Visegrád Group (V4), a grouping of Central European states—Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland—established for the purpose of furthering the four nations’ European integration.